Welcome Back to BCM

15646_10152295036656943_4847781616365200682_n

This blog has been in hibernation for a while, so I’ll quickly introduce – I’m Molly, I’m 21. Technically I’m in my third year of uni, but my second year of BCM after changing from a BA after my first year. I’m probably going to major in marketing and advertising communications with a minor in journalism – I’m not entirely sure what I want to do yet, but I’m enjoying uni so far and I’m hoping it’ll lead me down the right path. I’m really interested in fashion (yeah real original I know) – I would love to work in the industry but I’m not sure exactly what yet. I also have an online shopping… I want to say “hobby” but the right word is probably “addiction” or “problem”. I’m also going to put it out there now – I’m terrible at Twitter. Not in a technologically challenged kind of way, more in an I-just-really-dislike-Twitter kind of way. Consider yourselves warned; but who knows, maybe it’ll grow on me!

My whole life is on my laptop. Schedule, shopping, TV, email, uni work, 90% of social interactions on various social media, music, photos – and by extension, memories, emotions, relationships. And it all links up with my iPhone, so when I don’t have my laptop, I carry my life around in my back pocket. I can’t go one day without either, and not many of us could. It’s almost a necessity to have it these days. It’s funny though – we carry electronic, condensed versions of our lives around with us, yet we don’t like other people looking at them. I, for one, get very antsy when someone else is looking at my phone. I am one of those people who will not open my laptop on the train if someone is behind or next to me, or I will do the awkward squish-up-into-the-corner-and-turn-away thing. It’s weird though – why does it matter to me? I really don’t know, because it’s just some part of me. And most of the time, it’s something that’s out in public anyway, like this blog. I know I’m not the only one who gets like this, and I wonder why we do it? I have a few theories, which I’m keen to explore. Hopefully I’ll get to find out this semester!

(P.S. I’m sorry, that is a really terrible photo of my laptop – but you get the idea)

Leave a comment